E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Modding a 2009 E90 with 134k Miles - A Novella

03-05-2017, 02:21 AM   #1
MysticRob
Captain
Rep
Drives: 2009 335i E90

Garage List
Modding a 2009 E90 with 134k Miles - A Novella

Posting just as an FYI in case anyone on the etherwebz has similar problems, concerns, questions, experiences, etc.

Been looking at E90s for years, but only recently got serious. Figured purchase prices and mod prices make this an easier decision now. Bought a 2009 Alpine White sedan with the Red-Brown leather interior. Love the color combo.

Car has 134k and was for sale on a used dealer lot specializing in German hardware. I have a lot of experience with used car maintenance (Dad was a 40-something-year GM veteran mechanic and taught me well) so I was looking for something cosmetically good but mechanically needing. All 6 cylinders had 150-160 PSI so figured I had a decent short block to work with. Anything to get the price down and be able to dive into my own maintenance and mods.

The used dealer knew what it had and priced it accordingly, so I got the car very fairly priced for what I've seen in the area. First thing I noticed was some slight hesitation and stumbling at idle during the test drive. No codes, just a bit off and down on power compared to some I've driven.

Decided to start with plugs, which hadn't been done in 20k miles according to CarFax. Original plugs were a bit oily, but no gas smells, and no other oddities. Swapped 'em out for Bosch stockers. Left them at stock gap. Bought these:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Then moved onto coils since I was planning to up the boost with a canned MHD tune, and what the car had seemed to date back to coils from 2006-to-early-2009. Bought the newest ones from OEM Bimmer Parts and installed:
https://www.oembimmerparts.com/BMW-3...8657273kit.htm