THE LARGEST BMW 2-SERIES FORUM ON THE PLANET
2Addicts
2Addicts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
2Addicts | BMW 2-Series forum BMW 2 Series (F22) Forum BMW 2 Series Coupe and Cabriolet (F22/F23) General Forum Rev matching

06-01-2017, 05:35 PM   #1
JL1002
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 M2C

Rev matching

I can't find the comment, but someone had stated how easy it is to rev match the M235 - which was essentially "just put the throttle to the floor."

I've been driving manual for 10 years and this never occurred to me. I commute daily in traffic (lots of shifting) and find shifting entertaining (more shifting, albeit unnecessary) and am now fairly proficient at rev matching.

But since reading this comment a few days ago I've been experimenting with always rapidly taking the throttle to the floor and I am SIGNIFICANTLY more consistent with my down shifts. I suspect this is due to the fact I'm now only controlling one variable - how long the throttle is on the floor. Previously I didn't always go to the floor, which means I'm giving it X % of throttle for Y amount of time. Now by always rapidly going to the floor I always give it 100 % throttle and only have to account for Y amount time. This works on really small blips of the throttle if done quickly enough, and obviously on bigger 2500rpm jumps as well.

Is this a common technique? Is it something unique to the M235i? Is there a reason I shouldn't be doing this? What have I been missing?? :
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2017, 05:47 PM   #2
overcoil
Major General
Rep
Drives: M235i 6spd

I'm not exactly following your text, but if your downshifting through the gears, just try to blip the gas 1000-1500 rpm. The quicker you do the heel and toe the easier it its to engage into the lower gear with that extra 1000-1500 rpm still there as you let up on the clutch.
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2017, 05:54 PM   #3
aelarson
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 BMW M235i