BMW M2 Forum > BMW M2 Discussions > Driving without the Nannies

08-31-2018, 03:38 PM   #1
GregoryK
Captain
Canada
Rep
Drives: M2 '18

Driving without the Nannies

When I take all the nannies off. I'm talking no DSC. The car is frankly a bit of a handful. I'm still learning to drive and need to get on a track but the back pops out so easily it is crazy! I have M3 wheels and tires on my car so I have a reasonable amount of rubber. Also the tires break loose in 2 gear (stick). I honestly can't imagine trying to control this car with another 100hp!
Do most of you drive your car with DSC on (Sport +) or off (long push on the DTC button)?

"I would rather cry in a BMW than smile on a bicycle." Ma Nuo
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2018, 03:51 PM   #2
M2guru
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2018 M2

Garage List
2018 BMW M2  [10.00]
I:
Get in.
Push clutch in.
Push Start.
Release parking brake.
Hold the DSC button.
Drive off.
Every...time. (OK...winter excluded unless I want to screw around.)
Appreciate 2
      08-31-2018, 03:52 PM   #3
arquitecto
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: '18 M2 MG 6MT, '03 E39

Garage List
2018 BMW M2  [0.00]
2003 BMW 530i  [0.00]
For me Sport+ is plenty for normal street driving, I save dsc off for track/controlled environments.

In the right conditions you can get pretty sideways even in comfort mode if you really give it the beans. Regardless of what mode you drive in it all comes down to being smooth on the steering and learning to modulate the throttle.

The M2 is quite easy to control at the limit but I personally don’t see the need to put other people/drivers at risk just to get the back end out on public roads.
      08-31-2018, 04:04 PM   #4
M2guru
Lieutenant
Rep

Garage List
2018 BMW M2  [10.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by arquitecto View Post
For me Sport+ is plenty for normal street driving, I save dsc off for track/controlled environments.