E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > oil level fluctuation

01-03-2021, 09:02 AM   #1
Cosmos99
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2013 128i M Sport

oil level fluctuation

Backgound 2009 E91 328xi with 158k miles. Oil level was dead center for 2k miles since last oil change then dropped 1/4 down. I am not worried about that...Drove it to go snowboarding New Years day and its all uphill for about 75 miles and 6000 ft in elevation. On the way home ( downhill ) it was registering one quart low. I am new to non dipstick cars and I am not sure if it was the severe uphill or downhill that altered the level or does the sensor compensate for that. Got back into town and went to check buy some oil. Checked the car on a level surface the next morning and it was back to dead center which was higher than it was 2k miles ago. Is this "normal" or may I have a blocked oil passage or faulty sensor? The car has been very well maintained by the previous owner.

Thanks,

Ed
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2021, 09:09 AM   #2
Brian86
Captain
Rep
Drives: e36 M3, e91 325xi, N50 Xterra

A little fluctuation is normal in mine. I've read that the car compensates for the grade you're driving on but I don't think it's very good at it.

I would continue to monitor for a few more drive cycles to see what it does. Keep some oil in the trunk in case it falls to low-low.
Appreciate 1
Buug95918238.50
      01-03-2021, 11:00 AM   #3
vester86
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: BMW 330D '08

Don’t worry about it and top it up with 1 liter/quart when the car tells you to do so
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2021, 11:45 AM   #4
Avus95
Rep
Drives: BMW Z3 M coupe

Thanks guys! I will continue to monitor it and keep some extra oil on hand.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2021, 12:57 PM   #5
mousefarmer
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2007 328i, 2006 330i