E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Help, My instrument cluster randomly went out??

09-16-2021, 10:38 PM   #1
Cyless
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2007 BMW 335xi

Help, My instrument cluster randomly went out??

I am new to this so sorry if I make any mistakes. So just yesterday I drove my 2007 e90 BMW 335xi and the instrument cluster was working just fine but now I get in my car to drive it and it doesnt work at all. My OBD II socket works just fine. I need help please, I just bought it.
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2021, 06:44 AM   #2
Cyless
Private First Class
Rep

My instrument cluster

So I started my car this morning and now my instrument cluster is working for some reason. Im glad its working right now im just worried its gonna go out again. I'll keep you updated.

Yeah by the way can anyone tell me why my Idrive keeps saying there is a door open when there is not. Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2021, 03:32 PM   #3
lookalikehuuh
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2006 330i, 2007 335i

Hey Cyless welcome!

To clarify what do you mean by "doesn't work at all". Like the gauges don't work or just the displays? Is there no backlight? The more information you can provide with as many specific details as possible will help us point you in the right direction.

There are sort of infinite possibilities at this point that could point you to where to even begin looking. Step 1 would be to get a good BMW specific scan tool theres plenty of options out there from commercial tools like sold on Amazon to phone based app tools like bimmergeeks protool or laptop based applications you can download like INPA or ISTA.