E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Door lock actuator issue? FRM?

10-11-2023, 05:40 AM   #1
Bumble487
Rep
Drives: BMW E92

Door lock actuator issue? FRM?

Hi folks,

New user here from Scotland.

I’ve not long bought a second car for running around in (2012 Alpine White E92 318i Sport Plus Manual)

I’ve done around 600 miles in it and enjoying it. However, I have a couple of minor issues. I’m no mechanic by any means, but not afraid to get my hands dirty either and have maintained motor bikes for years and done minor some work on cars. As such, I have most standard tools.

First issue:
The passenger (left side in Scotland!) window does not drop when opening/raise when closing. It goes up and down fine with switch and remote. I’ve also tested and get no ‘door ajar’ warning when opening the door while driving.

I have purchased bimmerlink and scanned. I get the following fault:

Error code
9CBC
Error description
Short circuit or interruption door contacts front
Mileage
Error svmptom
No signal or value
Error status
Error present and stored
Error severity
Error would not cause a warning indicator

I’ve also noticed that the wing mirror on the same side does not heat (otherwise works fine). No fault stored in that respect.

Car locks/unlocks fine with remote and in car, also auto locks when moving off.

Drivers side - everything works fine.

Battery is not in great shape, but not horrendous either (12.2v across terminals after sitting overnight).

Is it safe to assume that it’s a faulty sensor in door lock actuator which is not telling the car when the door is being opened/closed, and replacing that will solve the issue? Is the mirror linked in some way, or is that just a coincidence and a separate issue?

I also have some NOX errors but will keep things clean and post separately about that when I’m ready to fix that.

Many thanks (and great forum btw!)