E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > newb question on whether common issues relate to chip upgrades

03-21-2014, 12:14 PM   #1
dan-kc
Private
Rep
Drives: 2015 535i xdrive, 2014 x5 35i

Garage List
newb question on whether common issues relate to chip upgrades

i'm owner of sub 10k mile n54.

i'm new to e90, previously having e36. after getting car, i saw online that there are some common failures such as hpfp, injectors, turbos, wastegate, gunk in valves/cylinder tops, etc.

my question is whether you've seen online that the those with upgrades such as cobb/jb4, etc have much higher percentage of issues than those with non-upgraded cars?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2014, 12:17 PM   #2
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
United_States
Rep
Drives: C6 Z06, 09 335i, 10 335xi

Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-kc View Post

i'm new to e90, previously having e36. after getting car, i saw online that there are some common failures such as hpfp, injectors, turbos, wastegate, gunk in valves/cylinder tops, etc.

my question is whether you've seen online that the those with upgrades such as cobb/jb4, etc have much higher percentage of issues than those with non-upgraded cars?
These issues will happen regardless of a tune. A tune will just expose those problems sooner as they are weak points.

In a nut shell if your HPFP was weak and you got a tune and it failed it was going to fail anyway.

If your injectors were on their way out and you got a tune and they failed it was going to fail anyway.

So it just brings out the weaknesses sooner.

If your spark plugs, injectors, fuel pump and the like are up to date and maintained you can tune this car happily well past 100K miles easily.
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2014, 12:30 PM   #3
Glowin
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: X3 35 & 335i now - M2/M4 next?

There's no such thing as "chip" upgrades with our cars.