BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing

European Auto Source (EAS)

11-17-2014, 12:58 PM   #1
cbrf23
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: 2021 BMW i3

Anyone running Mobil 1 5W50??

TLDR: Like the title says, wondering if anyone is running Mobil 1 5W50?
If not, why? Looks like a good oil on paper...

More info:
I was comparing the product data sheets of the Mobil 1 5W50 and 0W40 to the TWS 10W60, and I was wondering if anyone is running their 5W50? It looks like a good choice on paper, but I'm by no means an expert on oil and the information presented in these sheets is nowhere near complete....
0W40 data sheet
5W50 data sheet
10W60 MSDS

I see a lot of people are running the Mobil 1 0W40 with good results, but can't find anyone who is running their 5W50 and I'm just curious why.

I did a search, but all I could find on 5W50 was someone asking about Redline's 5W50 oil, and a couple responses saying it's not recommended for vehicles with catalytic converters due to some of the additives (though nobody mentioned which additives, and I didn't see any additive info on Redline's site, so I'm not sure where they got this info)
Redline Product Data

My car has test pipes (primary cat delete) and I will probably end up deleting the secondary cats this winter, so I'm not concerned with cats - just want the best oil for the engine/climate. I

I live in North-eastern Ohio, and won't be driving the car in winter, but early spring and late fall still see temps in the 30s for a while. In the summer, 75-85° and the vast majority of the time we won't see anything over 90° ambient.