Pandora Car Alarm System
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > F80 M3 / M4 Pricing, Ordering, European Delivery

07-22-2015, 10:38 AM   #1
diesel1879
Private
Rep
Drives: 2016 M3, 2016 Xdrive50i,13 q5

Euro Delivery, which port did you use?

I'm currently in the process of planing my Euro Delivery scheduled for sept 24th

I've read up on my euro delivery threads and the routes they have taken. Since this is my first time going to Europe I want to do it right. From what ive seen I deff want to try and visit some these spots:

stelvio or susten pass
Lake Como
Villa Balbianello
venice
(castles, I will be taking my family, if you know any great ones please recommended!)
any additonal places you guys would recommend.

My question is for you guys that have done the trip which port do you recommend for drop off? If i visit these sites should i just drive back to Germany? Im guessing dropping off in Venice might be nice. (i don't have a list of ports yet still haven't received my welcome kit)

Also please dont kill me if this has been covered, Ive searched and read many threads on ED, read the stickies, I saw a guide on ED a while back but cant find it now so if there is one you'd recommend please let me know!
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2015, 11:18 AM   #2
brian30tw
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: F80 delivered in Munich

The major thing to keep in mind is that, if you drop off the car in Italy, somebody from the transportation company (i.e., not you) will literally drive the car back to Munich (instead of it being put on a truck and shipped to port in Germany). Most people would recommend not dropping off in Italy if you can avoid it.

Outside that issue, it doesn't make a huge difference where you drop off. The other website has some survey/data on how long the return voyage takes from various drop off locations, but the differences are so minimal that it is definitely not worth planning your trip around.