Mo Reviews
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics

07-29-2015, 01:18 AM   #1
Duder
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2015 M4

M4 radio quality

is it just me or is the radio quality on this car horrendous? even the hd radio is bad. everything is really tinny sounding and a lot of times bitcrushed. I'm a producer/engineer so I know sound pretty well. even with the da settings tweaked it sounds awful. iPods sound fine. it's just the radio. and don't even get me started on satellite radio. but that's not bmw's fault. seriusxm has horrendous sound quality. I swear they transmit at like 2kbs. but anyways, anyone else have issues with their radio sounding horrible? it's not the speakers, and it's not the easiest settings. cd's and iPods sound great on the HK system.
      07-29-2015, 08:24 AM   #2
Duder
Second Lieutenant
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Railgun
If you're a producer/engineer, then you know that radio sounds like crap anyway. Can't comment on HD as it wasn't all there before I moved, but I can comment on the equivalent, DAB, and that too is hit or miss depending on how they broadcast it.

Satellite is anywhere from 4-64kbps. Even more crappy.

I've had HK on two previous cars and FM was as expected.

Can't imaging there's any AD/DA conversion happening for FM, so it sounding bitcrushed is probably not the best way to describe it. Over compressed?