Pandora Car Alarm System
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

08-11-2021, 09:07 AM   #1
adam996GT3
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: F80 M3

Track Alignment vs. Corner Balance

This morning I reached out to a shop to see about getting a corner balance on my f80 with bilstein b16 and GC camber plates. They mentioned they couldn't do a corner balance bc my stock end links wouldn't provide the adequate amount of adjustment. I would need to upgrade to SPL end links and then have a corner balance. My question, is the corner balance worth the extra money and effort? Will I experience a noticeable improvement in handling characteristics on the track? Or should I not upgrade the end links and stick to a track alignment? I am an intermediate driver with 4-6 trackdays a year. The car is only used for weekends and trackdays. Opinions?
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2021, 07:51 AM   #2
whitstap
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 15 f80 m3

They can still adjust the corner balance without disconnecting the end links... of course adj them to eliminate preload is ideal... if the corner balance is way off then the car will feel noticeably different it left and right turns
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2021, 09:13 AM   #3
m4forum
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: M3

I agree .... ideally having end links is preferable but I dont see make much difference. The biggest variance we have are not he cars but ourselves. Save the money and have more track time.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2021, 10:19 AM   #4
Pic18
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 18' F80 Comp, Spec E46